Chris Balyski voted in as new councillor for the Town of Preeceville

Chris Balyski was voted in as a new councillor for the Town of Preeceville during the town's byelection held on September 18.

There were 252 voters, with Balyski receiving 111 votes. Other candidates were: Florian Balawyder received 75; Nathan Draper received 48; Brian MacDonald received 16 and Denity Nelson received one vote, stated Lorelei Karcha, returning officer.

article continues below

Balyski took his oath to office on September 19 at the Town of Preeceville administration building.

Blayski has been a town of Preeceville resident for 42 years and was born and raised in the community. He is the third generation in his family to be a councillor with his grandfather John Stadnick and father Ed Balyski each having served as a councillor in past years.

"I am very excited and grateful that I got voted into as a councillor," said Balyski, "I am looking forward to playing a big role in the community.

“I really appreciated everyone who came out to vote. I look forward to the opportunity to serve as a councillor for the Town of Preeceville.”