Mini-miracle presents over $20,000 to Telemiracle

The Sturgis Kin Club's Mini-miracle 41 took on a little different look this year. Due to the COVID-19 restrictions the club was unable to host the annual mini-miracle in the usual manner with a live broadcast. “Through the generosity of the many we were able to present a cheque in the amount of $20,846 to Telemiracle," stated Daniel Wasylenchuk, Sturgis Kin Club Mini-miracle chairperson.

The amount included donations from the Sturgis Composite School ($4,162), Preeceville School ($401) and Norquay School ($1,130).

article continues below

The Kin Club sponsored a ham and perogie supper that was held February 21 and sold 125 plates, raising $1,793.

Kin Club members hosted a virtual Mini-miracle, broadcasting entertainment live on Facebook on February 25. Club members answered phones, taking personal pledges, donations on that day as well as prior to the event. Members who volunteered on the evening of Mini-miracle were: Wasylenchuk, Lecia Chalupiak, Dean Serdachny, Ashten Langille, Meghan Morton and Katherine Townsend.

The performers that were showcased that evening with pre-recorded performances were:  Tom Hazlett, GX-94 2019 Star Search winner, Jackie and Savannah Guy both of Yorkton, Laura Davis of Sturgis, Alexa Olson of Norquay, Jesse Jenialle of Swan River,  Cassandra Danyluk of Canora, and Brittany Jade, Simon Hanson and Filipina and Butch Vincente Pinaroc, all of Preeceville.

"This year was the 41st year that we have hosted the Mini-miracle but the first time we had to host it virtual," said Wasylenchuk. "It was very different and we are very happy with all the great generous support we received despite not having the hype and energy that the event usually has when it is held with a live audience. We would also like to thank all who purchased raffle tickets prior to Mini-miracle. We realize not everyone was able to watch the Facebook Live event when we drew all the winners," he added.

Winners of the raffle were: Eugene Boychuk, Tyler Blender, Ayda Blender, Declan Blender, Nicholas Chalupiak, Mike Chalupiak, Bracyn Konkel. Keltyn Konkel, Cheryl Walker, Russell Walker, Chris Walker, Carol Wasylenchuk, Mervin Secundiak, Tyrel Townsend, Bentley Lario, Gwen Gregory, Jerry Lizitza, Brenda Brown, Barb Kaziuk, Larry Skogen, Blaine Medlang, Wayne Popowich, Candy Teron, Mavis Morken, David Hamilton, Kipp Bayer, Tate Bayer, Zane Bayer, Carla Olson, Chris Fisher, Neil Christopherson and Joanne Pristie.

Wasylenchuk made the presentation to Telemiracle online on February 28.