Preeceville Harvard Air Cadet Squadron names Prestie cadet of year

Flight Sergeant Eric Prestie was named cadet of year during the Preeceville Harvard Air Cadet Squadron annual review at the Preeceville Legion Hall on May 29. Prestie also received the senior male marksmanship award and top volunteer contributions by a senior cadet award.

The cadets stood in formation as Hein Bertram, reviewing officer, inspected the squadron prior to the official March Past when cadets saluted Bertram on parade.

article continues below

Heather Prestie was mistress of ceremonies.

F/Sgt. Eric Prestie was awarded the Silver Duke of Edinburgh award. The Duke of Edinburgh 's International award program was established in 1953 by his Royal Highness, Prince Phillip, the Duke of Edinburgh, said a release from the award. Prince Phillip created the award program for young boys to motivate them to become involved in a balanced program of voluntary self-development activities. There are three levels in the award, bronze, silver and gold. At each level participants must make a commitment of time and physical recreation. Participants must also undergo an adventurous journey in order to qualify for the award.

The award program gives youth around the world the opportunity to realize their innate gifts, talents and strengths. It is a program that invites young people to develop a deep relationship with their communities, their families and friends and themselves, said the release.

F/Sgt. Emily Braithwaite was presented with the award for being the best cadet on parade.

F/Sgt. Benjamin Larson was presented with the top survival cadet award.

Corporal Matthew Korney was presented with the best first year cadet award.

Corporal Matthew Newton was presented the junior male marksmanship award.

F/Sgt. Almina Kovcic was presented the senior female marksmanship award, the outstanding senior female cadet award and the Lord Strathcona award. The origin of the Strathcona Foundation dates back to 1909 when Lord Strathcona wished to improve the physical and intellectual capabilities of youths by encouraging habits of self-discipline, good citizenship and patriotism.

Sgt. Trina Correos was presented with the junior female marksmanship award and outstanding junior female cadet award.

Sgt. Jamie Katryniuk was presented the outstanding junior male cadet award.

F/Sgt. Dean Terrenal was presented the outstanding senior male cadet award.

F/Sgt. Jonathan Alblas was presented the top volunteer contributions by a junior cadet.

F/Cpl. Mardy McLaughlin received the Wayne Lazaruk Fighting Heart Award.

Perfect attendance awards were presented to: Jonathon Alblas, Matthew Korney, Matthew Newton, Lucas Alblas, Joey Federuik, Kaulen Katryniuk, Mardy McLaughlin, Trina Correos, Jamie Katryniuk, Almina Kovcic, Eric Prestie, Dean Terrenal, Benjamin Larson, Rayanne Westermann and Zachary Larson.

Warrant Officer Two Zachary Larson was promoted to Warrant Officer One.

Captain Troy Rogowski presented Brian Rogowski with the Air Cadet League of Canada Member of Long Service medal.

"This evening we celebrate the year of achievements of these fine cadets," said Rogowski. "It takes a lot of dedication to balance a cadet career and personal commitments. Your efforts do not go unnoticed. Having such a combination of unique personalities makes you truly a joy to attend training with every week," he said.

He went on to acknowledge the sponsor committee, the reviewing officer, town council, Legion members, award sponsors and graduating cadets.

Rogowski acknowledged his staff and the sponsor committee.