RM of Hazel Dell elects new reeve

            Voters in the RM of Hazel Dell elected Randall Harriman as reeve in the October 26 election, said Sherry Kozar, administrator.

            There were 291 voters who came out to cast their ballots, she said.

article continues below

            Harriman received 153 votes and Clinton Guy received 136 votes.

            In Division 1, incumbent councillor Don Holowachuk defeated new candidate Brett Spray by a vote of 37 to 23. Colin Redman was reelected by acclamation for Division 3.

            Councillors not up for election are: Ken Spray, Division 2; Marilyn Johannesson, Division 4, and Bruce Gibb, Division 6.

            Marilyn Johannesson resigned after the call for nominations went out and there will be a byelection, Kozar said. Candidates will have until December 2 to submit papers and until December 3 to withdraw.

            The vote will take place December 7.