Sturgis horticultural show attracts 20 exhibitors

The Sturgis Horticultural Society hosted another successful show with 20 exhibitors from across the local area on August 15.

"The annual show had exhibitors being awarded top points in 16 categories in three different classes of flowers, vegetables, canned goods and junior entries," said Hazel Urbanoski, organizer.

article continues below

The categories included houseplants, outdoor plants, cut flowers, roses, sweet peas, dahlias, gladiolus, floral art, flower arranging, vegetables, fruits, garden crafts, canning and a junior category. All classes in every section offered cash prizes.

Karen Leis of Runnymede had the difficult task of judging the entries in the different categories.

Urbanoski was the high-point winner in the cut flowers category and also the overall high-point winner of the show.

Donna Beatty was the high-point winner in the vegetable category. Beatty was the second place overall winner.

Lillian Smith was the high-point winner in the fruit category.

Will Prestie won first place in the children's competition in the flower and decorative categories.

Gail Kozak was the high-point winner in the canned goods category.

Eileen Prestie placed third in the high-point overall winner category of the show.

Esther Prystay won the Beatta Wetterlund memorial trophy for best carnation. Prystay also won the Clara Sjolie trophy for best pansy.

Margaret Prekaski won the best petunia category.

Hazel Urbanoski won the Johnson Memorial for best rose. Urbanoski also won the Sid Thomas trophy for best dahlia, the Odvin Mattison trophy for best gladiola and best floral art category.

Donna Sawchuk won the Frank Graham trophy for best lily and the best herb collection category.

Elaine Meachem won the best sweet pea entry.

Barb Wagar won the Ted Schoenke memorial trophy for best house and outdoor plant.

Lillian Smith won the George Heshka trophy for best African violet.

Brenda Brown won the best potato category.

Maureen Johnson won the Lena and John Davis trophy for best tomato category.

Gail Kozak won the gold cup by Alberta for best collection of vegetables.