Westerlund reappointed to Hyas Housing Authority

Gwindy Westerlund has been reappointed to the Hyas Housing Authority board of directors, according to Trudy Jackson, a spokesperson for Saskatchewan Social Services.

Other members of the board are: Sonia Serdachny, Dale Zawislak, Lydia Dzaman and V. Joy Fiala (chairperson)

article continues below

The Hyas Housing Authority is a community-based organization that provides daily management of four housing units constructed and operated under the terms of a federal-provincial-municipal cost-sharing agreement.

Social Services Minister Donna Harpauer paid tribute to the volunteers who manage the social housing projects in their community by saying: “This local handson approach ensures that the Saskatchewan Housing Corporation responds effectively to the needs of each community.”

Saskatchewan has a network of 260 housing authorities and more than 1,400 volunteer members who assist with management of housing units throughout the province for seniors, low-income families and persons with disabilities.

Persons interested in volunteering to serve on the board of directors for the Hyas Housing Authority are encouraged to contact the mayor of Hyas. A local nominating committee recommends board members.

Applications for accommodation are available from the manager of the Hyas Housing Authority.