Preeceville Bantam hockey team claim banner for tournament championship

The Preeceville Bantam Pats won the A side banner at the Swan River Bantam Tournament held in Swan River Man. on February 14 to 16.

“We played two games Friday, one game on Saturday and one game on Sunday, all undefeated, to secure the A championship,” stated Jason Anaka, head coach.

article continues below

The Preeceville squad was the only Saskatchewan team in attendance at the tournament.

Other teams at the tournament were: Norway House North Stars, Southwest Wings (Virden area), Swan Valley Stampeders, The Pas Huskies, Thompson King Miners and Wawanesa Wild.

In the first matchup Preeceville defeated Wawanesa with a final score of 2 to 1.

Scoring for Preeceville in the first period was Spencer Leech, unassisted. In the second period it was Leech who put another one between the pipes, assisted by Xage Miraflor and Brody Shankowsky. Nathan Anaka was selected as player of the game.

Preeceville’s second game was against the Thompson King Miners with a final score of 8 to 5 for the Pats. Scoring for Preeceville in the first period were Spencer Leech and Xage Miraflor with assists by Nathan Anaka and Porter Wolkowski. Scorers in the second period were: Hunter Lamb, Spencer Leech (two goals), Zachary Sorgen, Logan Wolkowski (two goals) with assists by Brody Shankowsky, Hudsyn Nelson and Xage Miraflor. Spencer Leech was selected as player of the game.

The Pats third game resulted in a 2 to 0 shutout over The Pas Huskies.

Spencer Leech scored both goals in the third and final period with assists by Nathan Anaka.

Skylar Ryczak picked up the shutout in goal and was selected as player of the game.

In the championship game Preeceville saw action against the Wawanesa Wild for a second time. Preeceville skated to a hard-earned win with a final score of 4 to 2.

Scoring for Preeceville were: Zachary Sorgen, Logan Wolkowski, Nathan Anaka and Spencer Leech. Assists were added by: Keegan Dyck, Xage Miraflor, Zachary Sorgen, Archer Franklin, Hudsyn Nelson, Brody Shankowsky and Nathan Anaka. Nathan Anaka was selected as player of the game.

“We continue our Major Hockey League A banner playoff run with our next best-of-three series against Balcarres. The dates for the games have not been announced yet,” concluded Anaka.